Pix4d Mapper Crashing

Hello,

I am new to Pix4d and I am looking for some help. After my initial download and installation of Pix4d mapper, I am having difficulty getting any project to open. If I try to open a file through file explorer, it always crashes after displaying the pix4d splash screen that shows the version number on it. If I go into pix4d mapper and select open project, it will attempt to open a project, but when it gets to 96-99%, I get the not responding message that seemingly won’t go away. How do I get past this issue? I have spent almost all of my trial trying to get it to work. I found a thread stating there was a previous issue with dell backup software and pixc4d, is that still the case?

Dell G7, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA RTX 2060, i7-9750H

Hi Jerry. I replied to you via the ticketing system. Did you get my response?

Sorry, been out of the office. Check tomorrow.

Hey Jerry:

I was having the same issue on both my WIN10 desktop and laptop. For me the problem extended to any software which was demanded a heavy processing and/or memory load. It was tremendously frustrating and I couldn’t find answers anywhere, that despite my black belt in Google-Fu!

Then, one glorious day, I found a post on some help-desk forum board, somewhere I can’t remember. A post which offered a suggestion which I had never seen before. It took approximately 3 1/8 minutes to complete for each computer, something that made me instantly dubious it would do anything. That was 2 months ago, and both computers are operating at speeds not seen before, and notta one program has crashed on either.

I never found an explanation regarding why this was somehow adjusted, because I can guarantee I had never been to this particular settings page before on any computer. Somehow, on both machines, the allocated virtual memory was set so low that an Apple IIe would have crashed! If you are unfamiliar with how to check for this issue, you’re in luck. Here’s the steps: