Flight calculation time way off

Hello, I am brand new to this whole thing so i’m sure there is something that I am not understanding. I was flying my 2nd project and it seemed like the flight time calculation was way off. first I am using a Phantom 4 (not pro or advanced) with an Ipad Mini 2. The site I am flying is 2529x2575 ft and it says 13: 53s at the bottom of the screen. I started the drone in DJI Go 4 app then closed out and and flew from pix4dcapture. launched the mission. I set an alarm on my watch to go off at 13 min as this was the 2nd time I was trying to fly the site because the first time I tried to fly it I burned thru a battery and was only maybe 1/16 of the way done with the full site. I reset up the job and started it again with the above settings. after my alarm went off I connected the controller to the charging cable (controller battery started to get low) I flew for a total of 20 minutes before I had to bring the drone back home controller was at 3% battery. I only flew 3 of the planned grid flight lines of the 11 total for the project. it took 41 photos so far but this is only a 1/4 of the total job. At this rate I will have to fly it 5x on five different days because I can only get 30ish minutes out of the controller battery. I know its a large site so I understand that but why is the flight time so off it should be more like 1hr+. Am I missing something or not understanding what that means? it also seemed like the drone was flying pretty slow even though I had it set to fast. any thoughts or ideas or things I should look at would be helpful.

Thanks,
Justin

The controller battery should last most of the day. Are you sure it was fully charged? You shouldn’t need to disconnect the ipad from the controller.