DJI Mavic image quality issues

Folks: I’m just getting started with drone-based 3d reconstruction of landscapes, and I’ve run into an issue with my initial foray into using a DJI Mavic Pro with the Pix4DCapture app for Android.  Since the software doesn’t allow (as far as I know) the Mavic’s RAW (DNG) format, and only lets it collect JPGs, the JPG compression appears to be causing a decent amount of distortions over a grassland we are imaging.  So, my question is twofold:

1) Is there or can there be a way to select the DNG “RAW” output (which will contain EXIF that should be usable in Pix4D or other programs).  It is easy to convert a RAW into a JPG if Pix4D doesn’t support it, but at least this gives us the maximum options.

1. Secondarily, is there a way to tweak the JPG compression settings to allow for a higher quality JPG?
1 Like

Hi Jonathan,

At the moment it is not possible to capture RAW images with Pix4Dcapture because this image format is not compatible with our software, Pix4D Desktop. We only support .jpeg and .tif. However, we have forwarded this suggestion about saving images in RAW format to our product team for the mobile application.

We are not aware of JPG compression settings to be tweaked, at least not with our products.

Regards,

I asked myself the question.
However, Jpgs have been created on the PC from RAW images was a better quality.
An intermediate step is worthwhile.
Already to adjust the colors.
This works fast in batch jobs.

In case you haven’t found this out by testing yet, the mavic sharpness setting is actually more like a noise filter, leaving it at 0 will cause a lot of blurring in shadows and foliage, best stay between +1 and +3, +1 being the most pleasing for everyday use, +3 may cause noise to stand out especially in video.

Edit: Forgot to mention that Pix4D inherits settings you set in DJI Go (stored on the mavic) if it doesn’t modify them, that includes sharpness and most other post processing related settings.