Weed size detection

Hi there, I’m a broad acre farmer in Australia growing wheat and lentils. It looks like DJI enterprise drones are doing a good job at picking up weeds but I’m wondering how small of a weed they successfully detect? (Coin, golf ball size… ect.)
Ideally I would love to use this tech for targeting hard to kill weeds in summer, if it could I would also map in crop with ndvi and look at any hot zones that are high in biomass early on before canopy closure… with the assumption that these areas are weeds.
I already have a sprayer RTK ready for this sort of thing with John Deere operations centre.

Any feedback would be appreciated, bonus points for farmer feedback in my situation.
Cheers.

Hi brayden,

the size of the weeds to be detected depends on the sensor and the flight height above ground. The higher the resolution of your sensor the higher you can fly to detect weeds at the same size or smaller size when you fly lower.

I will give you some examples for the most common drone which is the Mavic 3 Multispectral:

Flown at ~ 110m, each pixel represents 5cm on the ground. So it has a GSD of 5cm. Thats Sorghum in Corn V4.
This is the multispectral sensor of the M3M which has a resolution of 5 Mega Pixels.

Here you have another comparison with the RGB sensor of the M3M which is 20 Mega Pixel at what to expect at different heights:

Thats weeds with RGB at 60m

Thats a comparison between RGB and MSP at 40m

What you aim to achieve is very well possible. You can also use the NDVI to do pixel based analysis, if you you understand well what weeds are and what not. This can all be rolled over into accurate prescription maps:

Regarding the John Deere connection we also got you covered:

Thanks for the reply, much appreciated.

It looks like RGB @ a 12m flight height is going to give the best chance at picking up the smallest of weeds. Summer spraying is green targets on brown so that should make things easier Im guessing… Am I correct in thinking that?