GoPro Hero4 Session camera settings don't seem to work--no images calibrated successfully

Hi, all–

This is my first time trying Pix4D Discovery out to see if it will fit my needs.

I have a GoPro HERO4 Session set as advised to take 8MP stills at 0.5sec intervals while I am walking around my neighborhood. I am currently turning the camera 80 degrees off to the right from my centerline while walking, and the photos appear to have plenty of overlap.

When I run the initial processing, the Quality Report pops up with a red warning exclamation point: only 9 photos calibrated out of 994.

I look at the camera settings, and for some reason the entry that is auto-detected for the HERO4 Session thinks the camera has a perspective lens instead of fisheye. So I changed this to fisheye, left the other settings alone, and re-ran the initial processing. (Load optimized settings was greyed out for some reason.)

This time it came back with 0 photos calibrated out of 994 and didn’t even finish the initial processing (no Quality Report produced). I got a paragraph of text on a pink warning background with links to helpful tips.

I know for sure the HERO4 Session is a fisheye camera. I don’t have the exact settings to punch into the camera’s editor such as sensor width, etc.

How do I get past this point? Anybody know what Pix4D expects to be input into the camera editor for the GoPro HERO4 Session?

What I will do later is a test run using an iPhone 5S in stock configuration (no fisheye lens) and see if that works.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Dennis,

Sorry to hear that you are having issues calibrating your GoPro Session images. Please consider sharing your project with our support team to help us better assist you. Normally a Quality Report would be enough to determine what is causing the issue, but given the low number of calibrated images it may be necessary to inspect the quality of the original images.