Increasing Relative Altitude Accuracy

Hello, I am still learning so please forgive any ignorance on the subject.

Long story short, I am attempting to obtain fill volume measurements empty pits to be later filled with water.

We have taken scans of several of these pits and I continue to run into the issue of there appearing to be a several foot elevation difference between opposite corners of the pits. The images I am attaching show only a ~2ft difference but more often than not I get results showing an 8-10ft difference between corners (which makes it appear that one corner of the pit would overflow before the rest), so this one of the better results that I have gotten.

In actuality these pits are level and not built on a downhill slope of any kind so I know this elevation difference is an error. 

How can I increase the accuracy of the elevations/altitudes across a wide area? I understand that GCPs or MTPs are probably going to be my answer, but I am unsure of the best way to go about using this feature. Do I need to just paint some boards to place in the project area for me to later mark on the GCP/MTP Basic Editor, or do I need to invest in a survey-grade GPS tool to be able to obtain accurate xyz coordinates to place into pix4d? Or are there some other settings I can tweak in the mission planner app (such as increasing my overlap) to obtain more accurate results?

Hi Chad. GCPs are definitely the way to go. You may not need to buy GPS equipment if you aren’t collecting GCPs that often. You can contact a surveyor in your area that will come out and collect the coordinates for you and that will be the best option if you don’t need to collect that often. You can do the cost-benefit of the cost of having the surveyor collect the points vs how often you will be collecting points to decide if you need to buy GPS equipment. Keep in mind that operating the GPS takes a level of expertise to ensure accurate results.