Export NDVI map

Hello

I aim to be able to count the trees (pine) within an area.
take the flight with an inspire1 + a RedEdge-M camera from Micasense.

I do the process, I calibrate the images and everything goes well up there.
when I want to export the data I export all the bands separately and I also export the NDVI Index, but when I take it to other analysis software such as Arcgis I see the monochromatic NDVI layer, I can not see it in color to start the classification process.

Please I need some guidance I am a novice in this.

Thank you.

Hi Rodrigo,

You will need to export the color index map: https://support.pix4d.com/hc/en-us/articles/202560539-How-to-generate-a-Colored-Index-Map-in-the-Index-Calculator. It will generate tif, jpg, png and also the color scale in a pdf file and will be stored in_. …\project_name\4_index \indices__\INDEX_NAME._ The name of the files will be projectName_rgba_ndvi.format.

Hello Momtanu

We were following what you explained to this gentleman some time ago.

The color index map in Pix4D is showing the NDVI values as they were when corrected using the spectrometer in field.

But when I export this color index map and reopen it in ArcGIS, I obtain an image with different RGB bands and not nir, green and red bands as called in Pix4D, and on top of that, they do not contain NDVI values but just the bands with values from 0 to 255.

How do I correct that?

Thank you

Hi Joseph,

The colored index map is exported as tif, png and jpg, but it is only for visualization (in case you want to add it in a presentation). It will be a RGB image. However, if you want to use it for further analysis in ArcGIS or QGIS, you will have to use the file generated by Pix4D in the output folder (for example, Sequoia_demo_dataset\4_index\indicesdvi\Sequoia_demo_dataset_index_ndvi.tif). It will show up as a monochromatic layer in QGIS in grayscale as it is a single band (NDVI having values from -1 to 1). You will have to colorize it in QGIS itself.