Poor Mapping Result With GCPs

I am fairly new to Pix4D but have combed through the available videos and articles to gain as much of an understanding as possible. I have been using other photogrammetry software for some time, and found the quantitative results in P4D attractive. During my first project while flying a Phantom 4 RTK we ran into some issues in the field. We were using the D-RTK 2 pole, but were unable to attain RTK lock, or even a floating RTK connection. Deciding that PPK would be appropriate, we carried on with our manual flights.

I flew the same site at various elevations, nadir, oblique and some strings of images that came in close to the control points, and then panned out. Having run the images through P4D, adding MCP and GCP, I have a truly awful result. I would sincerely appreciate any assistance in resolving this, as the only other solution is to return to the site and fly it again, hoping for better results. For obvious reasons, this is the last resort.

I am not terribly knowledgeable on Geodetic surfaces and datums, nor will I understand any surveyor-type lingo. Any help is much appreciated! Picture attached for reference.

Hi,

Thank you for reporting the issue.

Could you share with us your Quality Report?
▸ The quality report (.pdf format): …\project_name\1_initial\report\project_name_report.pdf

Could you also tell us more about how did you process your dataset? You mentioned performing several flights. Did you divide the imagery per subprojects; oblique, nadir and merge them at the later step?

The more we know about your workflow and data the better we can assist you :wink:

I look forward to your response.

Best!

Hello Beata,