Need help with entering GCP using a total station

I’m new to PIX4D and need some help figuring out how to add GCP information using a total station points. I can start a project and all the photos look good . I know how to get to the GCP area, but when I add the xyz using total station points it throws the GCP point way across the country(blue x) from where my drone data shows my scene. 

I’m sure I’m screwing up my output and GCP coordinate and output  system , not sure if I should be in arbitrary?? and should I add where the total station was set up (0,0,0) for a GCP point ??  I tried sending support the info and they have me all turned around.

I’m sure this is simple task,but i cant find any step by step information for using total stations. I just need a step by step guidance if someone can please help me 

Hi timothy, 

I also believe that the coordinate systems of your project need some tuning. First, you need to make sure to know in which coordinate system (horizontal and vertical) your total station has made the measurements. This should be checked on your total station and is a prior knowledge required to correctly set the coordinate system in the software. This corresponds to the GCP coordinate system. 

The geolocation of the images taken by your drone are also in a specific coordinate system. This is the image coordinate system and typically is WGS84. 

Finally, you can select in which coordinate system you would like your results to be. This is the output coordinate system. 

If there is one of those coordinate systems that is not correctly set, the coordinates you use as input will be used in a wrong coordinate system and the images or GCPs will end up at a wrong location.

This article gives step by step instructions on how to select those coordinate systems: https://support.pix4d.com/hc/en-us/articles/202560029

Please post updates if you managed to solve the problem or are facing new questions. Thanks.

thanks for the info