Image Capture Method - 3d Model

Hi all, I have been asked to generate a 3d model of a memorial at a cemetery. Our drone is having issues with frequency interference due to being too close to an airport, so I am attempting to undertake the capture from the ground using a Go-Pro and a 5m pole.

I have included a diagram below showing an aerial of the site and a very rough diagram showing my initial method of capture. I walked around the area of interest in a circular path, with some images looking in, and some looking out. Each path was walked twice, with the camera roughly at head height, then again at ~6m.

This didn’t work, and I will be heading out tomorrow to undertake the job again, this time with a different Go-Pro that has built in GPS. This I am hoping will resolve some of the problem.

I am very new to taking terrestrial photos, so any advice is welcome. 

Regards

Jed

Hi Jed, 

Thanks for sharing a drawing of your current image acquisition plan. 

I have some tips about what you need to be careful about: 

• Try to keep approximately the same distance from the ground/objects for all images. If you have the same camera in the project, the distance to a surface will define the Ground Sampling Distance (GSD) of the project. This will also define the size of a keypoint. For the matching part to work well, the keypoints should be approximately of the same size and maximum twice the size. More here: https://support.pix4d.com/hc/en-us/articles/202558979. This comment could also influence the height at which you fix the cameras on the stick.