How to establish GCPs using PPK?

I’m planning on getting an Emlid Reach RS and utilize CORS to establish precise coordinates for ground control points used in photogrammetry (drone surveying). I’m using GCPs because I don’t have a remote sensor setup on my drone yet. I’m new to this and I can’t seem to locate a “How To” for how you go about taking the data from the Reach taken at each of the control points and processing it with the CORS data to correct the coordinates. I don’t even know how close the CORS station needs to be. I found the Reach documentation but it appears to explain how to use it (actually use a pair of them) for RTK not PPK. My understanding, and maybe I’m misunderstanding, is that to establish absolute coordinates using PPK I don’t need two units (just one unit and data from a nearby CORS station) However I must admit it baffles me how this can happen without having at least one initial point to place the Reach on that you know the absolute coordinates already. But I think that’s just due to me still learning about PPK.

Would greatly appreciate it if someone can provide a link or otherwise throw me a bone on this. Thanks!

Dear Jeff,

Regarding the use of the products you mention, we recommend you contact their support, or wait for the input of other users.

In the meantime, you can check out the post from one of our users, briefly going over the difference between RTK and PPK, using CORS and describing his experience: https://community.pix4d.com/t/4703/comments/229362683. Although the post is pretty old, you can try adding a comment to the thread to engage other users.

Also, you might be interested in our article about acquiring ground control points. When importing them into Pix4D Desktop, make sure the accuracy values (Accuracy Horz and Accuracy Vert) you set reflect correctly the accuracy of your ground control points coordinates. 

To learn more about adding/importing ground control points, click here.