How many GCP's?

Hi,

I am fairly new to the UAV mapping world, I’ve been doing manned aerial surveys for the past 3 years with digital, film, and lidar sensors, though they are similar, there are definitely differences. 

We’ve been mapping fairly square and rectangular parcels with a phantom 3 with varying degrees of success. 

We have a corridor project of a 4 mile long winding road that has a lot of terrain relief. We need to map the road and 25 feet from centerline on both sides.We’re flying this with a phantom 3

How many ground control points and where would be optimal locations to place them? I’ve read the more the better and staggering them is ok but pairing the GCPs in the corridor is best. We are hoping for 2-3 inch accuracy. See attached image for the corridor. Right now I am up to 27 GCPs staggering them on either side of the road and 51 GCP total if I want to have areas that have GCP in pairs. It seems like this could be overkill but I don’t know.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Are you the Ensign in Utah by any chance?

I’ve had good results for longer jobs with way less staggered GCP’s, but I’ve never modeled mountains.   

The 3D reconstruction needs precision first (from High Overlap & MTP’s) before you can achieve total accuracy.  The GCP’s only geolocate the model.  

But I’m also a fan of overkill on the field work so you don’t have to go back.  It literally only takes a few seconds per GCP with RTK GPS.     

I’ve flown all of Willard Bay dike three times. 14 miles each way. I staggered the targets every 500’, flew 1000’ each way, there and back with a very high overlap and continued bunny hopping my targets. I had no problem doing it this way. The only down fall is it was very time consuming. I could do around 6.5 miles in a ten hour day.

Thanks for all your replies!

Erik- we are the Ensign in Utah.